Fifty

Some might not think it’s nifty,
to be now turning fifty.
But, little do they know,
this is not a big woe.

Some think it’s over the hill,
having to take one more pill.
Another ache or pain,
it all seems the same.

Some may say,
I see more gray.
More to complain and whine,
for on your face there’s another line.

Some might tell a lie,
And I know the reason why.
Their age is a big deal.
It does seem quite surreal.

It has always been told,
no one wants to get old.
Words forming on the tongue,
everyone wants to be young.

I could go on and on and on about this,
But, I do not want to hear one little hiss.
So, I will move right along.
But, before I say so long.

I do want to say,
on this fine day,
I am glad we’re here,
to celebrate in the cheer.

It’s your 50th birthday,
so come on and let us all say,
Hip, hip, hip hooray!
Hip, hip, hip hooray!

Leave a Reply

